Recipients 2013

The JSASS Awards consist of Best Paper Award, Technology Award, and Young Researcher Award for members under 35 years old. JSASS provided nomination guidelines in the June 2013 issue of Aeronautical and Space Sciences Japan and on the JSASS website, and nominations received by 30 August 2013 were reviewed strictly and carefully by each award selection committee. The committees recommended three recipients for Technology Award [two for Basic Technology Category and one for Project Category], and two recipients for Young Researcher Award. The committee for Best Paper Award did not recommend any recipient. The committee recommendations were submitted to the JSASS Board of Directors and endorsed at the 488th Board of Directors Meeting on 10 January 2014. The JSASS would like to announce all of our members this year’s awards recipients. Also, these awards will be presented with an extra prize at the JSASS Annual General Meeting to be held in April 2014. The details of the review will be provided in the May 2014 issue of Aeronautical and Space Sciences Japan.

10 January 2014
The 45th Board of Directors

Affiliations when the papers and technologies were published are shown.

Technology Award [Basic Technology Category]

Development of Airborne Doppler LIDAR
Recipient(s) Hamaki Inokuchi (JAXA)
Shigeru Machida (JAXA)
Masatoshi Harigae (JAXA)
Toshiharu Inagaki (JAXA)
Yoshihito Hirano Production Technology of Large-Scale Composite Wing for Commercial Airplane
Kimio Asaka (Mitsubishi Electric Corporation)
Hisamichi Tanaka (Mitsubishi Electric Corporation)
Masashi Furuta (Mitsubishi Electric Corporation)

Technology Award [Basic Technology Category]

From Fundamental Research and
Development to Flight Demonstration using a Sounding Rocket of
Inflatable Membrane Aeroshell for Atmospheric-entry Capsule
Recipient(s) Kazuhiko Yamada (JAXA)
Yasunori Nagata (JAXA)
Naohiko Honma (The University of Tokyo)
Daisuke Akita (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Kosei Ishimura (JAXA)
Osamu Imamura (Nihon University)
Kyoichi Nakashino (Tokai University)
A. Koichi Hayashi (Aoyama Gakuin University)
Takashi Abe (JAXA)
Kojiro Suzuki (The University of Tokyo)

Technology Award [Project Category]

Development of XP- Fixed-wing
Patrol Aircraft
Recipient(s) Hiroshi Nakazawa (Technical Research and Development Institute, Ministry of Defense)
Toru Nohisa (Kawasaki Heavy Industries, Ltd.)
Yasushi Takahashi (Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, Ltd.)
Takayuki Kobayashi (Fuji Heavy Industries, Ltd.)
Munetoshi Saitoh (NIPPI Corporation)
Masataka Ikeyama (IHI Corporation)

Young Researcher Award

Awarded Paper Computational Study of Effects of Nondimensional Parameters on Synthetic Jets
Recipient Kanako Yasue (JAXA)

Young Researcher Award

Awarded Paper Analysis on Thermal Efficiency of Non-Compressor Type Pulse Detonation Turbine Engines
Recipient Shinichi Maeda(University of Tsukuba)